Don’t mess with Texas.

Intruders shot after Texas couple wrests shotgun

Thu Sep 4, 6:03 PM ET

When two gunmen smashed through the glass front door of her suburban Fort Worth home, Kellie Hoehn didn’t think twice.

The 34-year-old mother of two grabbed a shotgun that had been pointed at her face early Wednesday, starting a struggle that ended with one intruder killed with his own weapon and another in the hospital.

“I wasn’t going to let them get to my babies,” she said, recalling the moment when she pushed up the muzzle of the shotgun, pointing it away from her children’s rooms.

Although the intruders told her to keep quiet, she screamed for her husband. She told her 12-year-old son, who was awakened by the sound of the shattering glass front door, to get his 5-year-old sister and hide.

“It was like a horror movie,” her husband, 32-year-old Keith Hoehn, told the Fort Worth Star-Telegram. “I thought I was a dead man. We’re fighting for our lives.”

With Kellie Hoehn clinging to the weapon’s muzzle, her husband tackled the man who held the shotgun. She knocked the intruder in the head with a jar candle, giving her husband a chance to wrest the shotgun.

By then the tussle had spilled out onto the front lawn. Keith Hoehn shot one of the men who had a pistol, police said. Wounded, that man ran away.

Then the intruder who initially had the shotgun charged Keith Hoehn.

Kellie Hoehn told The Dallas Morning News that she screamed at her husband, “Shoot him, shoot him, shoot him.”

Her husband fired the shotgun and the man fell to the ground. Then the shot man lunged a second time.

“Well, I shot him again, and I guess that was it,” Keith Hoehn said.

Dakota Scott Benoit, 20, of Richland Hills, was pronounced dead at a hospital. John Garland Pierson, 25, of Haltom City, was in critical condition and in police custody at the hospital.

“I am not happy that someone is dead,” Kellie Hoehn said. “But I am glad that my family is alive.”

Police said Pierson was shot in the left arm and the bullet pierced his diaphragm and other organs but his condition was improving. He will face charges of burglary of habitation with intent to commit another felony, police said.

This is kinda old news that I left in my “drafts” folder for over a week. I had intended to hit the publish button but got distracted by something an important: a Facebook prompt informing that it was my turn in virtual Scrabble. Clearly, a priority.

Anyway, I just love this family. They are my heroes. How many times have you fantasized about stopping a crime? I do all the time, but I’m pretty much a proven nutcase.

I think to myself about what things are lethal in my bathroom, how to defend myself with a bent coathanger and oregano, the pros and cons of hiding in a closet,… I even have entire scenarios pre-written in my head, which will be helpful for when I need to describe the situation to Tyra: “If the bastards get in here while I’m cooking dinner, I’m going to pretend I’m scared to make them feel cocky and relaxed, then when they think everything is cool I’ll karate chop him in the throat, break his wrist back and sweep his leg “karate Kid” style. Then, when the gun pops up into the air, I’ll grab it behind my back, shoot his accomplice in the gut, while elbowing the first guy in the face (since he’ll still technically be in the air on his way to the floor after the leg sweep), step my patent leather stiletto boot onto his neck (since that’s what I wear while cooking), hold the gun to his forehead, and say something quippy, like “Looks like lead salad is on the menu for you tonight.”

Maybe I watch too many movies.

2 Comments

Filed under news

2 responses to “Don’t mess with Texas.

  1. Evan

    Welcome back Di!
    As your second reader (and fifth stalker) I appreciate your getting off your comedic arse and posting something. So much juicy news awaits your lead-paint chip nibbling sensibilties!

    Gotta go. Facebook (aka my Orwellian Tamagotchi) beckons!!

  2. Heyyyyyyyyyyyy! I didn’t give permission to use my family Christmas pics!

    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

