…While we’re on the subject of Wino

The Grammy Awards were held last night. I didn’t watch them because…well, because award shows bore me and “Family Guy” was on Adult Swim. Anywho… Amy “I-found-my-missing-toothcap-under-the-sofa-cushion-and-shoved-it-back-in” Winehouse won for record of the year, song of the year, best new artist and pop female vocal performance.

Ok. Here’s where I get really catty.

“Rehab” is semi-memorable, I guess, and I actually have “I’m No Good” on my iPod. But… COME ON!  This is the best of the best in 2007? One-dimensional, retro re-treads, with tired, non-artistic vocals? Oy vey.

Here’s another great example of what really good (or bad) PR can do for a product. This poor drug-addled girl lives out a daily drama in the press. The paps and journalists (and bloggers. Guilty, as charged) have cranked into overtime and pushed an okay product into a must-hear, amazing product. Other musicians have helped further the push by constantly saying she’s a “genius, though I hope she gets helped”. A “genius”? Really? She’s on plane with Beethoven now, eh?

I ask you, where the hell is Radiohead in all of this?? Layered sounds, poetic lyrics, clear differentiation between songs,… “In Rainbows” didn’t even make the list. For shame, Grammy people!

Leave a comment

Filed under catty comments

Leave a Reply

